Aero-News Network: The aviation and aerospace world's daily/real-time news and information service
Aero-News Network
RSS icon RSS feed
podcast icon MP3 podcast
Subscribe Aero-News e-mail Newsletter Subscribe

Hide/Show Archive Navigation.

All News

August 10, 2004

Alaska TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8229  Location: GULKANA, Alaska near GULKANA VORTAC (GKN) Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 3:35 UTC (August 09, 2004 at 19:35 AKDT) Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): FAIRBANKS (FAI) Flight service station, 907-474-0788   No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Washington TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8261  Location: Yakima, Washington, D.C. near YAKIMA VORTAC (YKM) Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 16:40 UTC Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): Seattle (SEA) Flight service station, 206-658-6607   No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Wyoming TFR: 08/10/04 - 08/11/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8213  Location: JACKSON HOLE, Wyoming Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 20:05 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 14:05 MDT) Ending Date: August 11, 2004 at 15:00 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 9:00 MDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Michigan TFR: 08/11/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8256  Location: Battle Creek, Michigan near BATTLE CREEK VORTAC (BTL) Beginning Date: August 11, 2004 at 21:15 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 17:15 EDT) Ending Date: August 11, 2004 at 23:10 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 19:10 EDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Utah TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8228  Location: Levan, Utah near DELTA VORTAC (DTA) Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 3:13 UTC Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): Cedar City (CDC) Flight service station, 435-586-1525   No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Texas TFR: 08/11/04

NOTAM:  4/8266  Issued:  08/10/2004 17:40  Effective:  08/11/2004 17:10 - 08/11/2004 18:15  State:  TX  Facility:  ZFW - FORT WORTH (ARTCC),TX.  Type:  VIP  Description:  WACO, TEXAS, AUGUST 11, 2004 LOCAL. 

Read More

Advertisement

Iowa TFR: 08/10/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8207  Location: DES MOINES, Iowa Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 16:05 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 11:05 CDT) Ending Date: August 10, 2004 at 18:30 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 13:30 CDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Missouri TFR: 08/11/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8250  Location: JOPLIN, Missouri Beginning Date: August 11, 2004 at 16:25 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 11:25 CDT) Ending Date: August 11, 2004 at 20:20 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 15:20 CDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Arizona TFR: 08/11/04 - 08/12/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8259  Location: Phoenix, Arizona Beginning Date: August 11, 2004 at 22:05 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 15:05 PDT) Ending Date: August 12, 2004 at 16:55 UTC (August 12, 2004 at 9:55 PDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Colorado TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8257  Location: GLENWOOD SPRINGS, Colorado near SNOW VOR/DME (SXW) Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 16:19 UTC Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): Denver (DEN) Flight service station, 720-873-2740   No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Texas TFR: 08/11/04

NOTAM:  4/8220  Issued:  08/09/2004 22:18  Effective:  08/11/2004 18:15 - 08/11/2004 19:20  State:  TX  Facility:  ZFW - FORT WORTH (ARTCC),TX.  Type:  VIP  Description:  WACO, TEXAS, AUGUST 11, 2004 LOCAL. 

Read More

Texas TFR: 08/10/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8221  Location: Waco, Texas near WACO VORTAC (ACT) Beginning Date: August 11, 2004 at 2:20 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 21:20 CDT) Ending Date: August 11, 2004 at 3:25 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 22:25 CDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Advertisement

California TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8225  Location: Groveland, Delaware near EL NIDO VOR/DME (HYP) Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 0:07 UTC Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): Rancho Murieta (RIU) Flight service station, 916-354-0611   No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Texas TFR: 08/10/04 - 08/11/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8217  Location: CRAWFORD, Texas near WACO VORTAC (ACT) Beginning Date: August 11, 2004 at 1:10 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 20:10 CDT) Ending Date: August 11, 2004 at 18:55 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 13:55 CDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

New Mexico TFR: 08/11/04

NOTAM:  4/8233  Issued:  08/10/2004 12:17  Effective:  08/11/2004 18:55 - 08/11/2004 22:30  State:  NM  Facility:  ZAB - ALBUQUERQUE (ARTCC),NM.  Type:  VIP  Description:  ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO, AUGUST 11, 2004. 

Read More

Washington TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8197  Location: PESHASTIN, Washington near MALAGA (017) Beginning Date: August 09, 2004 at 15:54 UTC (August 09, 2004 at 8:54 PDT) Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): SEATTLE (SEA) Flight service station, 206-658-6607

Read More

California TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8163  Location: SAN JOSE, California near SAN JOSE VOR/DME (SJC) Beginning Date: August 09, 2004 at 1:02 UTC (August 08, 2004 at 18:02 PDT) Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): OAKLAND (OAK) Flight service station, 800-272-1180

Read More

Florida TFR: 08/10/04 - 08/11/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8203  Location: PENSACOLA, Florida Beginning Date: August 10, 2004 at 14:45 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 10:45 EDT) Ending Date: August 11, 2004 at 1:00 UTC (August 10, 2004 at 21:00 EDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Advertisement

Ohio TFR: 08/11/04 - 08/12/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8251  Location: Dayton, Ohio Beginning Date: August 11, 2004 at 23:20 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 19:20 EDT) Ending Date: August 12, 2004 at 15:25 UTC (August 12, 2004 at 11:25 EDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Nevada TFR: 08/12/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8255  Location: Las Vegas, Nevada Beginning Date: August 12, 2004 at 17:05 UTC (August 12, 2004 at 10:05 PDT) Ending Date: August 12, 2004 at 19:50 UTC (August 12, 2004 at 12:50 PDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots):    No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Safire Finance Deal Tanks

Company Still Closed

Safire Aircraft Company's prospects appear to be dimming. A month after announcing that funding from the Persian Gulf would allow it to reopen, the check's not in and the doors are still locked.

Read More

Aero-Views: Forest Service Isn't Right For This Job

Neptune Aviation flies aerial tankers that were built for war to combat hellish wildfires, but their toughest mission ever appears to be navigating a federal bureaucracy that grounded the Missoula-based firefighting force pending near-absolute proof that its aging but well-maintained aircraft are airworthy.

Read More

It Can Even Happen To The Big Guys

WDC Flight Diverted After Failing To Follow Procedures

There was some anxiety in the sky over Washington (DC), Sunday night. An America West Airlines jet headed to Reagan National Airport was diverted to Dulles Airport after the FAA says flight crew members failed to follow "proper procedures."

Read More

Italy To EU: Stop The Fare Wars

Demands BA, Lufthansa, Others Quit Undercutting Alitalia

Hoping to keep state carrier Alitalia from falling into the dark abyss of bankruptcy, Italy has ordered other airlines -- including British Airways and Lufthansa -- to knock off the fare wars and quit undercutting the home team.

Read More

Advertisement

NASA Solar Sail Propulsion Team Successfully Deploys Two Solar Sail Systems

NASA's Solar Sail Propulsion Team and industry partners have successfully deployed two 10-meter solar sails in a vacuum environment — a critical milestone in development of the unique propulsion technology that could enable future deep space missions.

Read More

Ghana Airways 'Losing Millions' Daily

State Carrier Still Banned From US Skies

Grounded by US authorities, Ghana Airways is reportedly losing money hand-over-fist as the number of stranded passengers piles up on both sides of the Atlantic.

Read More

A Small Airport and the PGA

Wisconsin Pilots - Be Aware!

A quiet Wisconsin airport is becoming the state's second busiest as the Professional Golf Association's (PGA) 86th Championship comes to nearby Whistling Straights Golf Course in Kohler (WI). During mid August, nearly 450-daily flights operations are expected at the Sheboygan County Memorial Airport (KSBM), and that means a lot of changes to the surrounding airspace.

Read More

Florida Pilot Lost In Kansas Homebuilt Accident

Odd Jorgenson Was Going Home

Andrea Jorgensen said her husband, Odd, never took chances when flying. "He didn't take risks in weather and I hope he didn't on this trip," she told the Wichita Eagle. But whether he did or not, Odd was killed Sunday when the aircraft he built with his own two hands went down in a field in Kansas.

Read More

Just Aichen To Go A Bit Further

Dreaming A Little Dream

We've all had dreams and aspirations of doing things that most would snicker at or at the least, divulge their extent of caution. Four months ago, 32 year old Jared Aicher became one of those dreamers, or would that be realist?

Read More

AOPA Chides Governor For Proposed Restrictions

Says Nuke Plants Are Safe From GA Aircraft Attacks

Nuclear power plants aren't in danger from general aviation aircraft and don't need additional airspace restrictions for their protection, AOPA President Phil Boyer told Connecticut Gov. Jodi Rell.

Read More

Advertisement

United Asks For More Time

Wants To File Reorganization Plan At End Of Year

United Airlines' parent company, UAL, wants a little more time. Four months, to be exact.

Read More

Women In Aerospace Announces 2004 Award Recipients

Winners Include Employees At NASA, Stellar Solutions, Space Foundation, and Lockheed Martin

Women in Aerospace (WIA), a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in aerospace and related careers, and to recognizing the achievements of outstanding women in aerospace, today announces the recipients of its annual award competition. The awards will be officially presented to winners during a reception on Capitol Hill, Tuesday, September 21.

Read More

Dream A Li'l Dreamliner For Me

Boeing Awards Additional Work to Thales for 7E7 Dreamliner

Boeing has selected Thales of France to supply the Integrated Standby Flight Display (ISFD) for the 7E7 Dreamliner. Last month, Boeing tapped Thales to supply the Electrical Power Conversion System for the airplane.

Read More

McIntyre Named to National Board of Directors of Canada's Aviation Hall of Fame

President Of Romeo Oscar Has 29-Year Aviation Background

The National board of directors of Canada's Aviation Hall of Fame, chaired by John Lawson, has appointed James McIntyre to the board.

Read More

Aero-News Quote Of The Day (08.10.04)

"We're disappointed, but not extremely disappointed because this was the first test flight. NASA lost several rockets before they got something good." Source: Phillip Storm, one of two young men who comprise Space Transportation Corp of rural Washington. Sunday, their dark horse X-Prize entrant, the Rubicon, blew up on the pad, taking their hopes of winning the $10 million cash award with it. Storm and his partner, Eric Meier, however, say they're undaunted. They plan to try again.

Read More

California TFR: Until Further Notice

NOTAM Number: FDC 4/8163 Location: SAN JOSE, (CA) near SAN JOSE VOR/DME (SJC) Beginning Date: August 09, 2004 at 1:02 UTC (August 08, 2004 at 18:02 PDT) Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): OAKLAND (OAK) Flight service station, 800-272-1180

Read More

Advertisement

Washington TFR: Until Further Notice:

NOTAM Number: FDC 4/8197 Location: PESHASTIN, Washington near MALAGA (017) Beginning Date: August 09, 2004 at 15:54 UTC (August 09, 2004 at 8:54 PDT) Ending Date: Until further notice Reason for NOTAM: To provide a safe environment for fire fighting aircraft operations. Type: Hazards Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): SEATTLE (SEA) Flight service station, 206-658-6607

Read More

AD: Thales Avionics

AD NUMBER: 2004-16-14 MANUFACTURER: TA/RA VSI-TCAS indicators SUBJECT: Airworthiness Directive 2004-16-14 SUMMARY: This amendment adopts a new airworthiness directive (AD), applicable to certain Thales AvionicsTA/RA VSI-TCAS indicators, installed on but not limited to certain transport category airplanes equipped with TCAS II change 7 computers (ACAS II), that requires a revision to the airplane flight manual (AFM) to advise the flight crew to follow the audio annunciation when an RA fail message is triggered during a multi-aircraft encounter.

Read More

AD: Boeing

AD NUMBER: 2004-16-10 MANUFACTURER: Boeing SUBJECT: Airworthiness Directive 2004-16-10 SUMMARY: This amendment adopts a new airworthiness directive (AD), applicable to certain Boeing Model 767-200 and -300 series airplanes equipped with off-wing escape slides, that requires an inspection of the door-opening actuators for the off-wing slide compartment on the right and left sides of the airplane to determine the actuator cartridge serial number, and corrective actions, if necessary.

Read More

AD: Boeing

AD NUMBER: 2004-16-09 MANUFACTURER:Boeing SUBJECT: Airworthiness Directive 2004-16-09 SUMMARY: This amendment adopts a new airworthiness directive (AD), applicable to all Model 747 series airplanes, that requires repetitive detailed inspections of the aft pressure bulkhead for indications of "oil cans" and previous oil can repairs, and corrective actions, if necessary.

Read More

AD: Boeing

AD NUMBER: 2004-16-11 MANUFACTURER: Boeing SUBJECT: Airworthiness Directive 2004-16-11 SUMMARY: This amendment adopts a new airworthiness directive (AD), applicable to certain Boeing Model 757 and 767 series airplanes, that requires inspection to determine the serial number of the hydraulic pump in the ram air turbine (RAT), and corrective action if necessary.

Read More




Advertisement

Advertisement

Podcasts

AeroTwitter

© 2007 - 2014 Web Development & Design by Pauli Systems, LC