Aero-News Network: The aviation and aerospace world's daily/real-time news and information service
Aero-News Network
RSS icon RSS feed
podcast icon MP3 podcast
Subscribe Aero-News e-mail Newsletter Subscribe

Hide/Show Archive Navigation.

All News

August 07, 2004

EAA Announces AirVenture 2004 Stats

Preliminary figures from the EAA's 52nd annual EAA AirVenture fly-in convention indicate that the world-renowned event launched the "Next Century of Flight" with great success.

Read More

Home At Last: Chief MSgt. Luther L. Rose

A serviceman missing in action from the Vietnam War has been identified and returned to his family for burial with full military honors. He is Chief Master Sergeant Luther L. Rose of Howe, Texas.

Read More

You Think Only The US Has TFRs?

A whopping forty-five mile no-fly zone has been established by Greek officials over Athens.

Read More

Pipe Bomb Turns Out To Be Vintage Mike

Thursday afternoon DFW airport's terminal C was closed after a TSA CTX screening machine operator sighted something inside a passenger's bag that looked suspiciously like a pipe bomb.

Read More

Austin Aerostar Crash Probe Gets Underway

Investigators have begun the arduous and time consuming task of sifting through the wreckage of the Aerostar that went down in Austin, crashing into a mansion and taking the lives of four adults and two children.

Read More

Raytheon Employee Wins FAA Charles Taylor Award

A Raytheon Aircraft Company employee has received the FAA’s prestigious Charles Taylor Award recognizing lifetime accomplishments of senior aircraft mechanics.

Read More

Advertisement

Regional Aviation Partners Hires Former U.S. Senate Staff Member

Regional Aviation Partners has announced the hiring of Todd Jorns as its new Associate Director of Legislative Affairs.

Read More

Letter To The Editor: O'Brien Makes The Fogg Wall!

Dear ANN: I am a teacher in Adelaide, South Australia, originally from Liverpool, UK, aviation junkie for more than 45 years, can't afford to fly but do whenever there's a spare seat....

Read More

Aero-News Quote of the Day (08.07.04)

"The device removed from Terminal C this afternoon turns out not to be an explosive device. It is apparently a microphone that looked remarkably similar to a pipe bomb. More details forthcoming shortly." Source: DFW Airport Public Affairs Manager David Magana, in an electronic mail message communicating to the media that what was thought to be a pipe bomb in a piece of luggage scanned through a CTX screening machine was a microphone.

Read More

New Jersey TFR: 8/15/04-8/18/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8111  Location: ATLANTIC CITY, New Jersey Beginning Date: August 15, 2004 at 22:30 UTC (August 15, 2004 at 18:30 EDT) Ending Date: August 18, 2004 at 20:30 UTC (August 18, 2004 at 16:30 EDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: Airshow Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): ATLANTIC CITY ATCT (ACY) Flight service station, 609-485-6193  No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described. 

Read More

New York TFR: 8/7/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8108  Location: WESTCHESTER, New York Beginning Date: August 07, 2004 at 15:05 UTC (August 07, 2004 at 11:05 EDT) Ending Date: August 07, 2004 at 17:45 UTC (August 07, 2004 at 13:45 EDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: VIP Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Maine TFR: 8/6/04-8/8/04

NOTAM:  4/8131  Issued:  08/07/2004 00:45  Effective:  08/07/2004 00:30 - 08/08/2004 19:15  State:  ME  Facility:  ZBW - BOSTON (ARTCC),MA.  Type:  VIP  Description:  KENNEBUNKPORT, MAINE, AUGUST 6-8, 2004

Read More

Advertisement

Washington State TFR: 8/13/04-8/15/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8098  Location: ABBOTSFORD, Washington Beginning Date: August 13, 2004 at 19:10 UTC (August 13, 2004 at 12:10 PDT) Ending Date: August 15, 2004 at 23:50 UTC (August 15, 2004 at 16:50 PDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: Airshow Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): SEATTLE (SEA) Flight service station, 206-658-6609 No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Washington State TFR: 8/11/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8099  Location: BLAINE, Washington near WHATCOM VORTAC (HUH) Beginning Date: August 12, 2004 at 2:15 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 19:15 PDT) Ending Date: August 12, 2004 at 3:15 UTC (August 11, 2004 at 20:15 PDT) Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: Airshow Replaced NOTAM(s): N/A FAA Contact(Pilots): SEATTLE (SEA) Flight service station, 206-658-6609  No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this NOTAM Except as Described.

Read More

Massachusetts TFR: 8/13/04-8/15/04

NOTAM Number:  FDC 4/8071  Location: Westover ARB/Metropolitan Airport, Chicopee, Massachusetts near WESTOVER VORTAC (CEF) Beginning Date: August 13, 2004 at 13:45 UTC Ending Date: August 15, 2004 at 20:15 UTC Reason for NOTAM: Temporary flight restrictions for national security Type: Airshow Replaced NOTAM(s): n/a FAA Contact(Pilots): Burlington (BTV) Flight service station, 802-951-6702 No Pilots May Operate An Aircraft in the Areas Covered by this Notam Except as Described.

Read More

South Carolina TFR: 8/9/04

NOTAM:  4/8109  Issued:  08/06/2004 18:21  Effective:  08/09/2004 14:20 - 08/09/2004 18:00  State:  SC  Facility:  ZTL - ATLANTA (ARTCC),HAMPTON,GA.  Type:  VIP  Description:  SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA, AUGUST 9, 2004.

Read More

CASA Urgent AD: Piper PA-34 (Seneca) Series Aeroplanes

AD/PA-34/52 Control Wheel Attachment 10/2004DM Background: The FAA received a report that a Model PA-28-181 aircraft crashed after the pilot lost control of the ailerons and elevator. Investigation revealed that the left control wheel single attachment screw had unscrewed from its nut plate, which resulted in the control wheel spinning freely on the control column. Further investigation revealed the screw was too short and the nut plate lacked proper locking characteristics.

Read More

CASA Urgent AD: Piper PA-32 (Cherokee Six) Series Aeroplanes

AD/PA-32/83 Control Wheel Attachment 10/2004 DM Background: The FAA received a report that a Model PA-28-181 aircraft crashed after the pilot lost control of the ailerons and elevator. Investigation revealed that the left control wheel single attachment screw had unscrewed from its nut plate, which resulted in the control wheel spinning freely on the control column. Further investigation revealed the screw was too short and the nut plate lacked proper locking characteristics.

Read More

Advertisement

CASA Urgent AD: Piper PA-46 (Malibu) Series Aeroplanes

AD/PA-46/32 Control Wheel Attachment 10/2004 DM Background: The FAA received a report that a Model PA-28-181 aircraft crashed after the pilot lost control of the ailerons and elevator. Investigation revealed that the left control wheel single attachment screw had unscrewed from its nut plate, which resulted in the control wheel spinning freely on the control column. Further investigation revealed the screw was too short and the nut plate lacked proper locking characteristics.

Read More

CASA Urgent AD: Piper PA-44 (Seminole) Series Aeroplanes

AD/PA-44/19 Control Wheel Attachment 10/2004 DM Background: The FAA received a report that a Model PA-28-181 aircraft crashed after the pilot lost control of the ailerons and elevator. Investigation revealed that the left control wheel single attachment screw had unscrewed from its nut plate, which resulted in the control wheel spinning freely on the control column. Further investigation revealed the screw was too short and the nut plate lacked proper locking characteristics.

Read More

CASA Urgent AD: Piper PA-28 Series Aeroplanes

AD/PA-28/96 Control Wheel Attachment 10/2004 DM Background: The FAA received a report that a Model PA-28-181 aircraft crashed after the pilot lost control of the ailerons and elevator. Investigation revealed that the left control wheel single attachment screw had unscrewed from its nut plate, which resulted in the control wheel spinning freely on the control column. Further investigation revealed the screw was too short and the nut plate lacked proper locking characteristics.

Read More

AD: General Electric

AD NUMBER: 2004-16-07 MANUFACTURER: General Electric SUBJECT: Airworthiness Directive 2004-16-07 SUMMARY: The FAA is adopting a new airworthiness directive (AD) for GE CT7-2D1 turboshaft engines.

Read More




Advertisement

Advertisement

Podcasts

AeroTwitter

© 2007 - 2014 Web Development & Design by Pauli Systems, LC